French trip update

Standard

The plans for the upcoming trip to France are well on their way now, there’s more to it than just booking flights. So I thought I would share with you some websites I have come across for anyone else who is planning a road trip to France

  • Travel Insurance:

Now although its wise to get medical insurance you can get free cover if travelling in Europe in the form of an E111. click this link to apply,E111 medical insurance. then click on apply for EHIC  (One thing to note though there are some websites which try to charge you for this service but it is totally free)

  • Breakdown Cover

My advise unless you are already covered is try one of the price comparison sites and choose your own level of cover.

  • Driving requirements

Their has been a few additions as to what you require since the last time I drove in France so I have added a link to a useful list Click Here I manged to source the items from eBay at very reasonable costs indeed.

  • Additional useful sites

French Autoroutes    About France   Drive Alive   About France Driving Routes

The above sites I found especially useful, the French Autoroutes will calculate the toll costs for your trip, and the About France website has some very good tips for not only driving but for French travel in general

I am also going to purchase an up to date Sat Nav, my existing one is still showing Dick Turpin’s highwaymen instead of speed camera’s so it needs a change, think I am going to go for the Garmin nüvi 2460LT   so any feed back would be appreciated

That’s about it for now any tips from anyone who has made this sort of trip would be much appreciated. Until the next post

au revoir

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

